Kurt Hahn Prize

Every year we recognise the hard work and dedication of pupils at Round Square Schools with the Kurt Hahn Prize. This prestigious prize is presented to the winner at the Opening Ceremony of the Round Square International Conference.

The prize was donated to Round Square on 5th June 1966 by Altsalemer Vereinigung (Salem Alumni) on the occasion of Dr Kurt Hahn’s 80th birthday, in appreciation of his lifelong contribution to education.


What is the Prize for?

The Kurt Hahn Prize is awarded in recognition of an exceptional act of service to others, immediate or long term, either within or without the school community. The aim is to acknowledge individual student achievement whilst furthering a lasting spirit of unity among all Round Square schools.


The Winner of the Prize

A winning student or group of students will receive a pin and certificate as well as their name inscribed on the Honour Boards of all Member Round Square Schools. The certificate is signed by the President of the Round Square Conference and the President of the Salem Alumni. 

The prize will be presented at the annual Conference of Round Square closest to when the nomination has been received and adjudicated on. The successful recipient will be invited to attend the Conference to receive his/ her award presented by the President of Round Square, His Majesty King Constantine. The conference fee of the winner will be carried by the conference host school.


The rules

You can find the rules for nominations here.


Nominations for the 2017 prize are open

Nominations are open for Round Square’s annual Kurt Hahn Prize. If you know a student or a small group of students who have committed an exceptional act of service to others and deserve recognition please nominate them.


Previous Winners


Rami Rustom

Kings’s Academy  2016

Sari Samakie

Kings’s Academy  2016

William Close

Kings’s Academy  2016

Aakriti Suri

Vivek High School  2015

Poppy Mulford

Regents International School, Pattaya 2014

Violetta Betsch

Schule Schloss Salem 2013

Ella McAuliffe


Collette Ankenman

The Athenian School 2011

Sai Prateek Narayan

Indian School al Ghubra 2010

S Pôlis

On behalf of the Markham College  2009

M Rochabrún

On behalf of the Markham College  2009

D Eeckelers

On behalf of the Markham College  2009

Louis Seco

Westminster School 2008

Damien Glover

Armidale School 2006

The Fire Brigade, Technical Squad and Emergency Services

Schule Schloss Salem 2003

Nqobani Mkhwanazi

St. Cyprian’s 2002

Melanie Wels

Ivanhoe Grammar School 2000

Dawud Mohamed Suleiman

Starehe Boys' Centre & School 1999

Vivek Prakash

Doon School 1997

Serena Brewer

The Athenian School 1995

Vittoria Frua de Angeli

Aiglon College 1992

Andrew Nelson

Abbotsholme School 1990

Sindisiwe Nzumalo

Box Hill School 1989

Andreas Pieroth

Schule Schloss Salem 1989

Sarah Ritchie

Cobham Hall 1984

Karl Herman-Roesch

Schule Schloss Salem 1981

Marc Napier

The Southport School 1981

Kim Schoel

Schule Schloss Salem 1979

Aidan Bryden

Gordonstoun School 1979

Robin Cole

Gordonstoun School 1974

Adrian Utley

Gordonstoun School 1972

Simon McLaren

Gordonstoun School 1972

James Beveridge

Gordonstoun School 1972

James Wingate

Gordonstoun School 1970

Nicola Homer

Box Hill School 1968

Allan Michael Deacon

Battisborough 1967

Moritz Edzard Christoph

Stiftung Louisenlund 1967

Graf zu Inn - und Knyphausen

Stiftung Louisenlund 1967


The passion of rescue reveals the highest dynamic of the human soul

Kurt Hahn